Alibi

Show you care and help me see
That every prayer is going to reach you.
You’ll be there and you will make sure
I don’t cry alone.

Take my heart and please watch over me
I’ll start to turn around.
If this part of me is heavenbound
You can take me home.

I’m calling out, I want to shout.
Sanity says I’m not allowed.
Don’t be shy you say, let me cry.
Vanity says you’re my alibi.

The tears may dry and as you find yourself
You wonder why you still feel the pain.
Time goes by but the sadness remains
Will we ever learn?

If you lost it all tonight, would you care?
If you had the chance right now, would you dare?
Would you leave it all behind, would you fly blind? Would you?

You’re calling out, you want to shout.
Sanity says you’re not allowed.
Don’t be shy you say, let me cry.
Vanity says I’m your alibi.

© Copyright Edwin Muirhead

Leave a Reply

